Victorian Scones – Mystery Solved!


TeacupYesterday, I blogged on this site about finding a cool new website/blog wherein “Marye” had a recipe for a Victorian Rose Poundcake.  I sent her an email saying I hyperlinked my site to hers and she replied!  Very kind of her indeed!

Marye (who is fast becoming a new friend hopefully), mentioned that she has ANOTHER cool site called “Kettle and Cup”.  So, being the curious sort, I hopped on out to the site to see what was brewing.  Sorry for the pun.

Ommah-garsh!  Marye has posted a recipe for really simple rose & cinnamon flavored scones which she serves with lemon curd.  Oh, NOW I’m frothing at the mouth just thinking about it!  Here’s the link to her recipe: http://www.kettleandcup.com/in-time-for-tea-rose-cinnamon-scented-scones/#more-276

“Auntie Rita’s Pearls of Wisdom” on making scones is NOT to overwork the dough.  My English husband always complains about the average Starbucks sort of scone that is like a brick.  Too dense, hard and pretty flavor-less.  I have a recipe for scones that I use all the time which I got from the head chef/baker at a very English hotel in Canada.  They are literally world famous these scones, and the chef was quite clear about how to handle the dough.  Additionally, I was glad to see that Mayre also states in HER recipe that you have to let the dough “rest” on the baking sheet for about 20 min before you pop the goodies into the oven.

So my dear friends, bake up a delightful batch and remember to give a few to your “widow lady” neighbors along with a teabag or two (it’s easier for them to microwave – I know, I know…) so you can drop it all off and give the ladies a little chat for company.  They will be delighted that someone visited leaving goodies behind and you’ll feel great for having “shared da luuuuuv”!

Fond smiles from SUNNY (ja, don’t faint) Seattle,
Auntie Rita in the lush and green NW corner of these GREAT United States!
www.SITUSeattle.com  or
www.CostumingInSeattle.com

~ by situseattle on March 3, 2008.

One Response to “Victorian Scones – Mystery Solved!”

  1. These sound wonderful Rita! I’m so glad you found this recipe.
    Val SDCG

Leave a Reply

 
