So you have a love of all things Victorian…


What started out for me as a simple blog to talk about the costuming that my friends and I do here in Seattle (visit my regular website: www.SITUSeattle.com ), has taken an unexpected turn this holiday season and I’m talking to more “Victorian” enthusiasts!

A lovely woman named Nancy has been responsible for a cool website dedicated to Victoriana.  I had to do some serious sleuthing to find her (she’d moved to a different state!) in order to discuss a few links which had become broken on her site.  Her site is AWESOME however, if you are interested in anything Victorian.  It’s called Victorian Station.  Here’s her site: http://www.victorianstation.com/home2.html  There are links for Victorian living, home repairs, parts, poetry, graphics – my imagination was whirling with all possibilities of what I could do with the information…

According to Nancy, she found out that elementary schools were now linking to her site as a place for kids to do research about the Victorian era.  Cool, huh?

I also have become involved with a wonderful Yahoo site called: “Victorian Times” which is moderated by a fellow costuming enthusiast from a nearby state.  Here’s the link if you’d like to check it out: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Victoriantimes-us/ 

Another really supportive group (I might need a 12-step program before long, wink) is a Yahoo group dedicated to restoration, interior decoration, arts, styles and so forth, of the Victorian era.  Here’s that link: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/victorianrevival/

So dear friends, I’m thinking about cooking up a costume for a Winter Event based on a Victorian or Edwardian theme.  I’ll blog on that the next time and perhaps some of you will have ideas to share of something that worked well for you or that my group might consider incorporating.

Have a wonderful weekend.  We’re expecting snow on Saturday.

Auntie Rita from the lush and green (soon to be snowy?)
NW corner of these great United States!!!

~ by situseattle on December 1, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
