Edwardian Walking Skirt


If you haven’t had the chance before, consider sewing this lovely “walking skirt”,
#209 by Folkwear

With the passing of the Victorian era came the Edwardian era with a bit more free-flowing lines – at least as far as skirts are concerned!  Think back to your Grandmother’s photos with the huge hair-do, hat, wider skirt and perhaps playing croquet on the lawn!

Personally, I have made the #209 pattern.  The instructions were very easy to follow.  For me however, since I am more chubby, I had to add the equivalent of 1 extra panel at the side back.  This advice came from my friend Pippin who is a Member of Somewhere In Time, Unlimited, a historical costuming group located here in Seattle, Washington.  I simply took the “side back panel“, made an extra one and then split it up the middle thus giving me two pieces which I slipped in on each side behind the hip .  This gave me the extra width in the waist area I needed and the fullness at the back where the gathering then looked correct.

Another thing I did was to take simple cotton (in white/offwhite) and self-line each piece of the panels.  This means that when I sewed the dress together, I was sewing the green “outside” fabric panel and the white cotton “inside” fabric as one unit or “set” onto the other “set” of matching pieces so that I could sew a seam.  By making French seams which encase the raw edges, this assured me of a strong and clean seam as well as a self-lined skirt that has beautiful drape!

My friend Bobbie (also a Member of Somewhere In Time, Unlimited) has sewn the same skirt but out of a blue fabric.  Instead of making the usual hem and hand finishing THAT by hand as I did, she managed to insert a special ribbon which gives the edge a good sturdiness as if she had used a horse-hair ribbon.  It looks great!

The next pattern I want to sew to go with my skirt is Folkwear blouse #205the Gibson Girl Blouse #205I’ve already bought all the lace to go between the white cotton.  This should be lovely and light in time for Summer when I go to a number of picnics.

If you’d like to see us in the identical skirts, hop on out to the SITU website (click here) and you’ll see Bobbie in the blue skirt and I in the green.  We dressed in 1907 garb to celebrate the 100th anniversary of the renowned Pike Place Market located in Seattle, WashingtonIt was a beautiful day, not too hot or cold.  The organizers of the function didn’t know that SITU was coming, so it was quite a surprise to see beautifully dressed ladies strolling about the market as if the on-lookers had stepped back in time.  Even the local T.V. station KOMO 4 not only interviewed us, but used our images for the “teasers” for the evening news hours! If you click here, you will see a short video about the day, but you’ll have to wait for a short “commercial”….

I would love to see photos from ladies who have put this skirt together and the accompanying story of why you sewed it.  Did you hold an event or do you simply like to dress in period?

If you have a passion for historical costuming and live within driving distance to Seattle, contact me.  We’d LOVE to have you join us for an event orDress-up Opportunity“!

Fond smiles from Seattle, located in the lush and green N.W.,
Auntie Rita

~ by situseattle on October 3, 2007.

One Response to “Edwardian Walking Skirt”

  1. Such a delightful blog. I clicked on the SITU marketplace event. I was thrilled to see a woman of color participating and looking good. THANK YOU.

Leave a Reply

 
