Scottish “Aaaaaargh!”


So, I’m new to the blogging thing, but as a member of SITU in Seattle, I decided it was time to attempt putting a simple blog together for those of us interested in reconstructing past eras!

This January 2008, Somewhere In Time Unlimited is holding one of its more gala events – The Winter Event which this year happens to be: “Bonnie Bobbie Burns, We Love Ye Still…”  Guess what we all should wear?  Thankfully, I had sewn a costume last year for myself for a different event, so “I’m” handled.  It’s my husband who is next in line for costuming treatments!

I’ve priced out wool, imported and domestic.  Checked into different patterns for kilts.  I’ve even gone online to look what it would take to buy a kilt on e-bay.  I’ve got a couple of months to try to pull this together, but I thought perhaps if there was someone out there in the blogging world with some pearls of wisdom, I’d be interested in hearing it.

The event should be a real blast.  The organizer has a fabulous meal planned for the participants (fully catered mind you), a piper and a Scottish dance group to entertain us.  The location, although in the basement of a neighborhood church, is going to be transformed into a lovely setting reminiscent of an old Scottish building.  Okay, squint your eyes and work with me here….

I see yards and yards of tartan being purchased and decorations for The Grand Hall.  Look to this blog come end of January and I’ll be posting a photo or two. 

In the meantime, if you’re interested in what our group is doing or photos of past events, hop on over to www.SITUSeattle.com for a quick look.  My computer has been buggy for the past few days (yup, the Tech Department is on their way), so forgive me if you see any broken links.  I’ll be jumping on those after the weekend.

Fond smiles from Seattle in the lush and green Northwest!  Rita

~ by situseattle on September 28, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
